Design Host Contact Extras Profile Old New

Grumble
Saturday, Feb. 26, 2005 - 12:58 a.m.

I don�t even know how to express how pissed off I got at my TV today. I was watching the show on TLC called 10 years younger. It�s a makeover show that aims to make a person look 10 years younger than they do. (they stick you in a clear plastic box on the street and poll 100 people to get an average age) they always ask the person to do something for themselves to help keep up all the work that was done. The woman today said that she would work on her communication with her daughter. Now this woman was on the show because she had lost 150 pounds in a very short period of time, which gave her Gaulle stones and she had like 5 surgeries, which reeked havoc with her skin. Now since she wanted to work on her relationship with her daughter (a 13 year old happy, bubbly and yes overweight girl) the show set up a therapy session for the two of them. At one point the Therapist asked the mother to tell her daughter what she wanted for her. The mother said that she�d really like the daughter to loose some weight, and that she�d (the mother) really like to be the daughter�s strength the way the daughter was her strength. She asked her daughter if she was happy, and the girl said yes. The mother told her �No you�re not, how can you be? I was so unhappy before I lost the weight, there�s no way you can be happy where you are, I mean look at yourself� I�m sure there was more, but at that point I was too upset to listen. If the girl has self-image problems, she gets them from the way her mother talks to her. And the therapist agreed with the mother! Why is it that everyone assumes that fat people can�t be happy?!? God, it just pisses me off. Grrrr.

yesterday - tomorrow - 0 comments so far