Design Host Contact Extras Profile Old New

Your Florida Update
Aug. 02, 2005 - 09:08

So here I am in �sunny� Florida. It�s rained both day�s that we�ve been here. Rain here is different than in Massachusetts. In MA, when it rains it�s all day, here, clouds roll in, shoot their load in a loud, fast, flood, and then move on. The whole thing takes an hour tops. Lots of things here are different that MA. Trees for example. Want an idea of how FL and MA compare tree-wise? Mentally rip up all of the pine trees, and plant palm trees where they used to be. Snakeface, you should see me down here, you�d die laughing, the birds are all different, and pretty, and I�ve been pointing and Oooing since I got here. We saw some Anole�s around the pool, and I�m sure I�ll eventually get used to them, they�re supposed to be all over the place, but for the moment I�m making an idiot of myself trying to see them.

The flight over wasn't� so bad. We flew SouthWest Air. The Flight attendant was really funny, when we landed he went through a whole speech about connecting flights and most of the plane was laughing here are some quotes (because I felt they were worth writing down)

If you have a connecting SW air flight, be sure to check the board as you exit the plane to find the appropriate gate. If you�re connecting with another flight that�s not with SW Air, frankly, we don�t care

We are 20 minutes early, I hope that doesn�t inconvenience anyone. If you wanted to be late you should have flown US Air.

Please check to make sure you have all of your personal items, if you are going to leave something behind, make sure it�s expensive so we can sell it on e-bay.

please remain seated until the plane comes to a complete sot- Okay we�re here, everybody out!

I love unexpected comedy.

I�m writing this entry over a couple of days. My Internet access is limited to when Mom and I hit a Panera, or a Starbucks. It�s funny how lack of internet can force you to be trendy. Either way, I feel bad forcing my mother to sit around and wait while I spill all my personal information out over the internet, so I�ve taken up typing into Appleworks (don�t judge me too harshly, it�s my dad�s laptop, and It�s all we have, desperate times, desperate measures etc. etc.), and that way, when I get to the internet all I�ll have to do is copy paste. I�m happy, you�re bored, my Mom�s not. it�s all good.

We�re meeting with the realtor today (Sunday) at 1:30 (it�s quarter to 11 now) to go and look at some houses. I�m excited for that. I really want to find a house down here soon. I like it. A lot. I�m still not really looking forward to leaving all my friends, but I do like the idea of living down here. I was surprised how much I like it here.

Okay, so it�s (much) later. We looked at 5 houses today. I didn�t really like the first one, it was waterfront property, but waterfront in Florida isn�t really the same as waterfront in Massachusetts. Most of the �ponds� here are man made, you don�t really swim in them they just kind of sit there. and take up space that would normally be backyard, and yard space is definitely in short supply here (when you compare it to MA). There wasn�t a pool (which is something that my family has decided is necessary). and the whole place seamed kind of small.

The second house was kinds of cool. There was no pool, and the yard was small, but it was really cozy. It had a hot tub, and the whole yard area was this really nice porch. The kitchen was nice, and the owners were offering a granite countertop upgrade, which was cool. They also had monkeys in the house. There was a bedroom upstairs that had a whole mural painted on the wall that was really neat.

The third house, which we�re calling �The White House�, was my favorite. It has a pool with a built in whirlpool/hottub and a nice patio area, but beyond that it had a decent sized yard that had some coconut palms, a banana tree, a mango tree, and an orange tree. The downstairs has a good sized kitchen, a formal dinning room, a breakfast area, a full bathroom, a laundry room, and a bedroom. The upstairs has the master bedroom, with a walk-in closet, a nice bathroom complete with a water closet, separate shower and tub and dual sinks. There�s an open loft area, another full bath, and then two bedrooms. It has a huge, two door two car garage, and these really great trees in the front of the house as well. It�s really close to the top of our price range, but I absolutely love it, and I want this to be our home.

The fourth house that we looked at was more expensive than the third, and not as nice, it had a pool, and it was waterfront, but something about the pool wasn�t as nice as the house before it (it may have been the lack of hottub). The kitchen was nicer, but other than but not really nice enough to warrant the difference in price. (it was almost $50,000 more)

The last house we looked at was only one story, and it was nice, but I really couldn�t see Mom and Dad living there. The kitchen kind of floated in the middle of the house, like they put up two walls to make a corner right in the middle of the main living area. I thought it looked neat, but it really wasn�t my parents taste. The last one also had a pool, but still, it wasn�t as nice as the third one.

We�re going tomorrow to look at at least one more house, and we�re going to go back and have a look at the White House again. I�m going to take the camera and get some good pictures of the house. I really want this house, and all of you in MA better come down to visit me after I move here. I�ll update once more tomorrow, and then I�ll post this, maybe I�ll have pictures of the White House to post up here.

Okay, so we looked at five more houses today, plus we went back to the White House. It�s still #1 in the running. The only one that we looked at today that might be a consideration was the second one that we looked at. We�ve dubbed it �the Playboy Mansion� mainly because the guy who�s living there now had a bunch of nakie pictures on the walls, and barstools with the playboy logo on them. The pool there had a waterfall, and the rooms were much bigger than in the White House, but the yard isn�t as nice. I still want the White House.

So, as you can see I�m posting this pretty early in the morning, Mom and I are going to go to Ft. Lauderdale beach today, Then we�re going to a place called Butterfly World. We�re gonna kind of take time to stew over what we want to do about the whole house thing. We might go back and look at the Playboy Mansion again, If we do I�ll get some pictures of that house too. This is probably the only entry I�m going to write while we�re here.

I mailed off 10 Postcards today before we came here. Mostly to the cousins, and the aunts that don�t have children. I sent one to Julius and Avigen, one to Piskie, One to Red�s Daughter, and one to Red and Fuzzy�s apartment too. I would have sent one to Snakeface, and one to Lights, but I don�t have either of their addresses.

Okay, well I�m off to go play tourist. I�ll see you all when I get back.

yesterday - tomorrow - 0 comments so far