Design Host Contact Extras Profile Old New

Oh what a night
Oct. 13, 2005 - 22:10

I have a date of departure: I'll be flying to Florida on October 27th. I'm going down before my mother and sister so that someone can be at the house when the mover's bring our stuff down. Our house has to be packed up by the 24th, so we'll all be hauling ass for the next week and a half. Wheee.

So last night my mother and I were watching Ghost Hunters on SciFi. It's worth watching, but not nearly as good as Most Haunted on the Travel channel. Anyway, we were talking about how the last couple of days, we've been seeing these wierd flashes around the house. Now it's pretty crappy weather, so we kind of wrote it off as lightening, because it always looked like it was coming from the outside.

Tonight, I was upstairs playing X-men Legends, when my mom called me down for dinner. Just as I stood up, my TV turned itself off. Not the VCR, or the Playstation, just the TV. The Tv's possessed anyway, so I wasn't too conserned. I went downstairs, and my mom was in the kitchen asking if the light looked wierd to me. It did, the lights in our kitchen and dining room looked really dim, like we were having a brown out. Which would have been fine, except for the fact that the hall light was shining extra extra bright, like turn the high beams off bright. All of the sudden all the electronic stuff in the house started going completely haywire. The ve shut off, there were poping noises, the stuff in the utility room was humming wierdly. I unplugged the Ibook, and went upstairs to find a plume of smoke coming from my computer. I pulled all the electric plugs, while my mom was on the cell phone with my dad asking what she should do. I got her off the phone, called 911, then got the animals out of the house, and into the car. My poor cat was terrified, he completely tore up my arm. The fire department came, decided that it was safe for us to come in out of the rain, and called the electric company. Turns out we lost our neutral. From what the electrician says, that basically means that inside the main electric wire that goes into your house, there are three wires two that run to the different parts of the house, and a neutral. Houses have a current of 240 amps running into them, the neutral makes sure that each of the wires only gets 120. If you loose your neutral, then there's nothing preventing the number of amps from going over what they should.

There were 4 casualities tonight: two computers, a possessed TV, and a DVD player, all of which should be covered by home owners insurance. It's aggravating though. blah.

yesterday - tomorrow - 0 comments so far