Design Host Contact Extras Profile Old New

The chronicles of Targia
Dec. 16, 2005 - 21:37

So today was my second real day at Tar-jay, and I�m falling into the work nicely I suppose. I�m working as the operator, so basically, I sit in the fitting room and redirect calls all day, while I hang clothes and make sure no one steals anything. These two shifts, and the one I�m working tomorrow are supposed to be my training, but really, I only needed about 10 minutes with my trainer, and now I�m pretty much all set by myself, as long as there�s someone around incase I forget something. Apparently this is very out of the ordinary, because it seams like the whole store suddenly knows who I am. I haven�t met my Department manager yet, but I talked to him a few times on the phone today, he called me to have me page a few people, and was like �Is this Caitlin? I�ve heard that you�re Awesome!� Then the floor manager from toys came over to give me a list of toys that were out of stock, but I already had it, so I read it off to her, and asked if there were any new ones to add, she looked at me and said �You must be the new operator that everyone�s talking about.� One of the soft lines area managers was standing near by, and she looked over and said. �I know, isn�t she awesome?� and the toys manager agreed. I�m incredibly flattered, although I sometimes wonder what they�re talking about. I don�t feel like I�m that good at the job. I think a big part of that is just adjusting to what it is I�m actually supposed to be doing. I�m used to picking up the phone, and helping people, and that�s not really what I do at this job. I�m the operator, not customer service. My job is to transfer the customer to the department they need. That�s really different from any other job that I�ve worked at. I think once I accept that fact I�ll feel like I�m doing better.

I can�t wait for the christmas season to be over. I think I�ll like this job much better once that�s all done. The phones are ringing nonstop, and the clothes pile up, and there are lots of people, and no one in the departments pick up the phone when you transfer, so there are moments when I just want to run into the fitting room and lock the door, but I know that in a week or two that everything is going to change. The calls will be farther apart, and there will be less clothes. In the long run, I feel like it�s better to start it this way, because with the high volume of work that I have now, I�m getting a crash course in what to do, so I�ll get used to it this way, and then things will get easier.

I don�t know how much I�ll actually write about this job though, There�s not much to talk about. It�s too busy to have funny customer stories, and I don�t know anybody well enough to have funny coworker stories.

Ugh, I need a life. I need something to do other than work, sleep, TV, and internet.

yesterday - tomorrow - 0 comments so far